Eikon - Internationale Zeitschrift für Photographie und Medienkunst
D / E

EIKON ARCHIVE & Publications

Publications
Publications
more

Archive
more

Search the archive

Search for authors, artists or articles

EIKON #87


EIKON #87

Artists | F&D Cartier | Andrés Galeno | Michael Mauracher | Julie Monaco | Robert Zahornicky |

Contributors | Robert Ayers | Thomas Ballhausen | Simon Bowcock | Andrea Gnam | Rahma Khazam | Peter Kunitzky | Katharina Manojlović | Sebastian Müller | Gislind Nabakowski | Christina Natlacen | Ute Noll | Gerald Piffl | Florian Rainer | Michael W. Schneider | Abigail Solomon-Godeau | Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein | Claudia Weinzierl | Peter Zawrel | Margit Zuckriegl

Languages | German / English
Dimensions | 280 x 210 mm
ISBN | 978-3-902250-76-6
76 pages

Price: € 14,00 (incl. 10% VAT)

Online Order >>>

Content

PORTFOLIO

F&D Cartier | Ute Noll
ANDRÉS GALEANO | Robert Ayers
MICHAEL MAURACHER | Christina Natlacen
JULIE MONACO | Andrea Gnam
ROBERT ZAHORNICKY | Peter Zawrel

ARTS & STUDIES

JASMIN EDELBRUNNER

IN FOCUS: SPACES OF THE FEMINIST SELF

SELF-PORTRAIT - SELF-REPRESENTATION - SELF-TIMER. Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein in Conversation with Abigail Solomon-Godeau | Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein

FORUM

10 years of EMoP: Photography, History and Memory | Gerald Piffl

AUSSTELLUNGEN

BLOW-UP: Antonioni's Classic Film and Photography | Claudia Weinzierl
CONNECTING SOUND ETC. Cable Works, Cable Sounds, Cables Everywhere | Rahma Khazam
PUNCTUM | Margit Zuckriegl
JOAN FONTCUBERTA. Stranger than Fiction | Simon Bowcock

Editorial

Defined as “a photograph that one has taken of oneself, typically one taken with a smartphone or webcam and shared via social media” (Oxford English Dictionary), the “selfie” has become an indestructible part of today’s common (anti-)culture. Characteristic features are a usually amateurish composition, an unfavorable angle for the shot and ineffective lighting, which means that it contradicts practically all the criteria for professional photographic portraits; it’s not surprising that most of the protagonists are teenagers, who just make a quick snap of themselves in the bath, in their room or in a dressing room.
    But to conclude from this that selfies are a totally insignificant pastime for growing youngsters might well be to judge too quickly, for, in particular, the way young women, who produce the majority of such images, present themselves to the camera and thus to the world in general should make one stop and think: is the purpose of the lascivious, almost unclothed pose to confirm one’s sense that one is attractive within one’s sexual identity? Or is it not rather the case that these stereotypes demonstrate how much the point of view is determined by male ways of seeing—and that the female is objectivized in this way?
    A reason to have a close look at the self-representation of women, specifically artists, in historical terms: Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein, the curator of Sphären des feministischen Selbst: Selbstportrait—Selbstdarstellung—Selbstauslöser (spheres of the feminist self: self-portrait—self-presentation—self-timer) and therefore the “focus” of this edition, examines in an interview with Abigail Solomon-Godeau the visual language of feminism, from the representation of the “New Woman” to the presentation of the female subject in art. Especially the invention of the self-timer seems to have given artists the chance for new forms of interaction with the self, as two current exhibitions in the ACFNY and the MdM Salzburg illustrate.
Innumerable “selfie-girls”, on the other hand, are really behaving in anti-feminist ways. And yet they seem always to value the display of the construction with the camera; arms lengthened by the perspective and mirrored cameras in the frame of the image let one suspect that most of it is sheer masquerade.

An entertaining time is the wish of your EIKON team with
Nela Eggenberger

Online Order >>>

Eikon - Internationale Zeitschrift für Photographie und Medienkunst
D / E

EIKON ARCHIV & SONDERPUBLIKATIONEN

Sonderpublikationen
Sonderdrucke
weiter

Archiv
weiter

SUCHE im ARCHIV

Suche nach Autoren, Künstlern od. Artikeln

EIKON #87


EIKON #87

Künstler | F&D Cartier | Andrés Galeno | Michael Mauracher | Julie Monaco | Robert Zahornicky |

Autoren | Robert Ayers | Thomas Ballhausen | Simon Bowcock | Andrea Gnam | Rahma Khazam | Peter Kunitzky | Katharina Manojlović | Sebastian Müller | Gislind Nabakowski | Christina Natlacen | Ute Noll | Gerald Piffl | Florian Rainer | Michael W. Schneider | Abigail Solomon-Godeau | Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein | Claudia Weinzierl | Peter Zawrel | Margit Zuckriegl

Sprachen | Deutsch / Englisch
Format | 280 x 210 mm
ISBN | 978-3-902250-76-6
76 Seiten

Preis: € 14,00 (inkl. 10% USt)

zur Online Bestellung >>>

Inhalt

PORTFOLIO

F&D Cartier | Ute Noll
ANDRÉS GALEANO | Robert Ayers
MICHAEL MAURACHER | Christina Natlacen
JULIE MONACO | Andrea Gnam
ROBERT ZAHORNICKY | Peter Zawrel

ARTS & STUDIES

JASMIN EDELBRUNNER

IM FOKUS: SPHÄREN DES FEMINISTISCHEN SELBST

SELBSTPORTRAIT - SELBSTDARSTELLUNG - SELBSTAUSLÖSER. Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein im Gespräch mit Abigail Solomon-Godeau | Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein

FORUM

10 Jahre EMoP: Fotografie, Geschichte und Erinnerung | Gerald Piffl

AUSSTELLUNGEN

BLOW-UP. Antonionis Filmklassiker und die Fotografie | Claudia Weinzierl
CONNECTING SOUND ETC. Cable Works, Cable Sounds, Cables Everywhere | Rahma Khazam
PUNCTUM | Margit Zuckriegl
JOAN FONTCUBERTA. Stranger than Fiction | Simon Bowcock

Editorial

Der Beschreibung nach „ein Foto, das jemand von sich selbst macht, üblicherweise mit einem Smartphone oder einer Webcam und dies via Social Media verbreitet“ (Oxford English Dictionary), ist das sogenannte „Selfie“ aus der heutigen Alltags(un)kultur nicht mehr wegzudenken. Charakteristisch sind die zumeist dilettantische Komposition, der ungünstige Aufnahmewinkel und das unvorteilhafte Licht, womit es sich wohl so ziemlich allen Kriterien eines professionellen Fotoportraits widersetzt; nicht weiter verwunderlich, sind doch die Protagonisten meistens Teenager, die sich eben mal schnell im Bad, in ihrem Zimmer, in der Umkleidekabine fotografieren.
    Die Selfies aber deswegen als vollkommen belanglosen Zeitvertreib der Heranwachsenden zu betrachten, wäre wohl etwas zu vorschnell, denn vor allem die Art, wie sich junge Frauen, die den überwiegenden Anteil daran produzieren, der Kamera und damit der ganzen Welt präsentieren, sollte zu denken geben: Dient das laszive, beinahe unbekleidete Posieren dazu, sich attraktiv und in der eigenen Geschlechtsidentität bestätigt zu fühlen? Oder aber führen diese Stereotypen nicht eher vor, wie sehr der Blick von einer männlichen Sichtweise – und damit einer Objektivierung des Weiblichen – bestimmt ist?
    Ein Anlass, die mediale Selbstrepräsentation von Frauen, genauer Künstlerinnen, historisch unter die Lupe zu nehmen: Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein, Kuratorin von „Sphären des feministischen Selbst: Selbstportrait – Selbstdarstellung – Selbstauslöser“ und damit des „Fokus“ dieses Heftes, untersucht im Gespräch mit Abigail Solomon-Godeau die visuelle Sprache des Feminismus, von der Repräsentation der „Neuen Frau“ bis zur künstlerischen Darstellung des weiblichen Subjekts. Speziell die Erfindung des Selbstauslösers scheint Künstlerinnen neue Formen der Interaktion mit sich selbst ermöglicht zu haben, wie zwei aktuelle Ausstellungen im ACFNY und MdM Salzburg zeigen.
Unzählige „Selfie-Girls“ agieren hingegen geradezu anti-feministisch. Jedoch scheinen sie stets Wert auf das Aufzeigen der Konstruktion durch die Kamera zu legen; perspektivisch überlängte Arme und gespiegelte Fotoapparate im Bildausschnitt lassen vermuten, dass das meiste doch nur Maskerade ist.

Gute Unterhaltung wünscht Ihre EIKON-Redaktion mit
Nela Eggenberger

zur Online Bestellung >>>