Eikon - Internationale Zeitschrift für Photographie und Medienkunst
D / E

EIKON ARCHIVE & Publications

Publications
Publications
more

Archive
more

Search the archive

Search for authors, artists or articles

EIKON #86


EIKON #86

Artists | Moyra Davey | Elisabeth Grübl | Ira Lombardía | Damir Očko | Paul Petritsch | Nicole Six |

Contributors | Thomas Ballhausen | Rainer Bellenbaum | Regine Ehleiter | Lorenzo Fusi | Matthias Harder | Manisha Jothady | Peter Kunitzky | Katharina Manojlović | Andreas Müller | Gislind Nabakowski | Marc Peschke | Florian Rainer | Ingeborg Reichle | Maria Rennhofer | Andreas Spiegl | Franz Thalmair | Elisabeth Tonnard | Thomas D. Trummer | Andrea Winklbauer

 

Languages | German / English
Dimensions | 280 x 210 mm
ISBN | 978-3-902250-75-9
76 pages

 

Price: € 14,00 (incl. 10% VAT)

Online Order >>>

Content

PORTFOLIO

MOYRA DAVEY | Rainer Bellenbaum
ELISABETH GRÜBL | Franz Thalmair
IRA LOMBARDÍA | Lorenzo Fusi
DAMIR OČKO | Andreas Spiegl
NICOLE SIX & PAUL PETRITSCH | Thomas D. Trummer

ARTS & STUDIES

HERWIG TURK: The Art of Making Science

IN FOCUS: THE BOOK AS A WORK AS AN EXHIBITION AS A BOOK

Publishing as Artistic Practice: A Conversation with Delphine Bedel | Regine Ehleiter
Elisabeth Tonnard: A Dialogue
Curating Publications | Regine Ehleiter

FORUM

Define the Position, Raise the Profile: Sabine Breitwieser interviewed by Maria Rennhofer | Maria Rennhofer

AUSSTELLUNGEN

Les Gueules Cassées. Scars from the First World War in Contemporary Art | Marc Peschke
Eyes Wide Open: Stanley Kubrick as Photographer | Manisha Jothady
Lens-based Sculpture. The alteration of sculpture by photography | Matthias Harder
Hans Schabus. East West South North | Andreas Müller


Editorial

 After the theme of “Documentarism”, which formed the start for our new section “In Focus” in the last edition of EIKON, the phenomenon of self-publishing, which is growing increasingly frequent, now provides us with an occasion for a close look at the artist book. The heading “The Book as a Work as an Exhibition as a Book” comes about because publications function these days not only as a medium for documenting exhibitions and art installations but also, and increasingly, as an alternative exhibition space where the medium “book” takes over the function of a White Cube, which has to fill empty pages rather than white walls with pictures.
    On invitation from the two curators of this magazine’s focus, Regine Ehleiter and Delphine Bedel, Elisabeth Tonnard provides an example of that with “A Dialogue” (pages 48–51), and also demonstrates the strengths of the printed exhibition format: in contrast to a presentation in a museum, here the viewer can use the pictures not only visually but also physically and in this way literally grasp art by turning a new page.  
    Tonnard’s contribution is framed by the two main texts, which approach the theme of “artist publication” from different perspectives. While Regine Ehleiter concentrates on publication as an exhibition medium, filtering out the historical origins, which are to be found in the journalistic practice of Conceptual Art in the 1960s (pages 52 ff.), in the interview starting on page 41 Delphine Bedel discusses the contemporary forms of artist publication and risks a glance at its digital future.
    We hope that we can again offer you an exciting thematic issue in this way and in this connection would be very happy to see you visiting the EIKON booth at the 2nd ViennaPhotoBookFestival (June 14–15)!

Your EIKON Team with
Nela Eggenberger

 

Online Order >>>

Eikon - Internationale Zeitschrift für Photographie und Medienkunst
D / E

EIKON ARCHIV & SONDERPUBLIKATIONEN

Sonderpublikationen
Sonderdrucke
weiter

Archiv
weiter

SUCHE im ARCHIV

Suche nach Autoren, Künstlern od. Artikeln

EIKON #86


EIKON #86

Künstler | Moyra Davey | Elisabeth Grübl | Ira Lombardía | Damir Očko | Paul Petritsch | Nicole Six |

Autoren | Thomas Ballhausen | Rainer Bellenbaum | Regine Ehleiter | Lorenzo Fusi | Matthias Harder | Manisha Jothady | Peter Kunitzky | Katharina Manojlović | Andreas Müller | Gislind Nabakowski | Marc Peschke | Florian Rainer | Ingeborg Reichle | Maria Rennhofer | Andreas Spiegl | Franz Thalmair | Elisabeth Tonnard | Thomas D. Trummer | Andrea Winklbauer

Sprachen | Deutsch / Englisch
Format | 280 x 210 mm
ISBN | 978-3-902250-75-9
76 Seiten

Preis: € 14,00 (inkl. 10% USt)

zur Online Bestellung >>>

Inhalt

PORTFOLIO

MOYRA DAVEY | Rainer Bellenbaum
ELISABETH GRÜBL | Franz Thalmair
IRA LOMBARDÍA | Lorenzo Fusi
DAMIR OČKO | Andreas Spiegl
NICOLE SIX & PAUL PETRITSCH | Thomas D. Trummer

ARTS & STUDIES

HERWIG TURK. The Art of Making Science

IM FOKUS: THE BOOK AS A WORK AS AN EXHIBITION AS A BOOK

Publizieren als künstlerische Praxis. Ein Gespräch mit Delphine Bedel | Regine Ehleiter
Elisabeth Tonnard. Ein Dialog
Curating Publications | Regine Ehleiter

FORUM

Standort bestimmen, Profil schärfen. Sabine Breitwieser im Gespräch mit Maria Rennhofer | Maria Rennhofer

AUSSTELLUNGEN

Les Gueules Cassées. Narben des Ersten Weltkriefes in der zeitgenössischen Kunst | Marc Peschke
Eyes Wide Open. Stanley Kubrick als Fotograf | Manisha Jothady
Lens-based Sculpture. Die Veränderung der Skulptur durch Fotografie | Matthias Harder
Hans Schabus. East West South North | Andreas Müller


Editorial

Nach dem Thema „Dokumentarismus“, welches in der vorangegangenen EIKON-Ausgabe den Auftakt zu unserer neuen Rubrik „Im Fokus“ bildete, bietet uns nun das immer häufiger anzutreffende Phänomen des Self-Publishing Anlass für eine Untersuchung des Künstlerbuchs. Der Titel „The Book as a Work as an Exhibition as a Book“ ergibt sich dadurch, dass Publikationen gegenwärtig nicht nur als Dokumentationsmedium für Ausstellungen und künstlerische Installationen fungieren, sondern immer öfter auch als alternativer Ausstellungsraum; das Medium „Buch“ übernimmt darin die Funktion eines White Cube, der statt weißer Wände leere Seiten mit Bildern zu füllen hat.
    Eingeladen von den beiden Kuratorinnen dieses Heftschwerpunkts, Regine Ehleiter und Delphine Bedel, gibt Elisabeth Tonnard mit „Ein Dialog“ (Seite 48–51) an dieser Stelle ein Beispiel dafür und demonstriert sogleich die Stärken des gedruckten Ausstellungsformats: Im Gegensatz zu einer Museumspräsentation kann der Betrachter hier die Bilder nicht nur visuell, sondern auch physisch benutzen und auf diese Weise Kunst buchstäblich von einer anderen Seite begreifen.  
    Tonnards Beitrag wird von den zwei Hauptexten gerahmt, die sich der Thematik „Künstlerpublikation“ aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven annähern. Während sich Regine Ehleiter auf die Publikation als ein Ausstellungsmedium konzentriert und dabei die historischen Anfänge, die in der publizistischen Praxis der Konzeptkunst der 1960er Jahre zu verorten sind, herausfiltert (Seite 52 ff.), erörtert Delphine Bedel im Gespräch ab Seite 41 die gegenwärtigen Formen des künstlerischen Publizierens und wagt einen Blick in dessen digitale Zukunft.
    Wir hoffen, Ihnen hiermit erneut ein spannendes Themenheft präsentieren zu können und würden uns anlässlich dessen ganz besonders über Ihren Besuch am EIKON-Stand des 2. ViennaPhotoBookFestivals (14.–15.6.) freuen!

Ihr EIKON-Team mit
Nela Eggenberger

zur Online Bestellung >>>